Adventure is at the very core of what we do in Scouting! We believe that through the everyday adventure of Scouting, young people and the adult volunteers can experience a whole range of new challenges that enrich their lives.

Scouting consists of a number of Sections based on age. Each Section ensures that every young person in Scouting enjoys a balanced programme of activities, which are split into programme zones.

Together we can help young people get the most out of their own personal Scouting experience by including elements from as many zones as possible. As they move from Beavers, to Cubs, to Scouts, to Explorers, and eventually Network, young people are encouraged to have more and more involvement and input into the programme and activities.

Activities form a large part of the Scouting movement. They can be both physically challenging and help boost confidence in young people by setting and achieving goals.


The Sections and Ages
Beavers Scouts 6-8 years
Cub Scouts  8-10½ years
Scouts  10½ -14 years
Explorer Scouts  14-18 years
Network Scouts  18-25 years
Leaders  from 18 years
Active Support  from 18 years